What do Big 5 Mammals Eat

What do Big 5 Mammals Eat : Big five mammals were named the big five from the Africa’s colonial era, as these animal species were considered as the most very difficult and dangerous animals to be hunt on foot by the many hunters. The big mammals are spotted in the various parts of the African countries but majorly in East Africa in Tanzania, Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda. The big five mammals includes the rhinos, elephants, leopards, lions and buffalos. The big five mammal species are the biggest land mammal species of Africa and the most fierce, and the word big 5 derivers the big game hunters, and these are the animal species which you spot on the African safari that gives you the best wildlife safari experience the most incredible one.

What do the big five mammals eat.


Elephant is the largest and the heaviest land animal in the entire world weighing up to 6 tones, the elephants eats massive amounts of the food each day. On a safari in Kenya the elephnats are majorly spotted in all most every national and reserve on Kenya especially in Amboseli national park where the tourists enjoy spotting the large free ranging elephants. And these are identified on their dexterous trunk, large ears that cools their body when flapped, and the elongated incisors in the for of the tusks.

Elephnats are vegetarians as they eat up to 160 kgs per day, made up of the savannah fresh grasses, bushes, small plants, fruits, twigs, tree bark, roots and among many others.


The African buffalo is known of being with the reputation for being the short tempered and the dangerous animal species. Being solitary the buffalo is one of the most unpredictable safari animal species in the big five mammals. The size of the buffalos determines by the amount of the food and the water available that means when the water is excess the buffalo takes a lot of water as well as the food.

The buffalos are strictly the herbivores and hence these depend on the wide variety of the grasses, leaves and other related plant species for them to sustain and survive for a long period of time. On a Kenya safari in East Africa the buffaloes can be spotted in Ambsoeli National Park, Tsavo national park and among others in Kenya, Katavi national park in Tanzania an among many others, What do Big 5 Mammals Eat.


Leopard is the smallest animal species in the big five animal species, even smaller than its cousins the lions. African leopards are rare animal species and they rely and do animal camouflage, as these can be active especially at night hence known as the nocturnal animal species. Leopards are solitary animal species, independent creatures, and these are rarely seen but they can be together especially when they are going for mating, or a mother with the cub.

What do Big 5 Mammals Eat
Big 5 Animals

Leopards during the day they like being in the trees, but when it gets to night these animal species becomes active to start hunting for their next meal, and after getting their prey they move with their prey up in the trees during in their own time.

Leopards are known as the opportunistic carnivores and they do hunt a wide range of prey for their food including the jackals, antelopes, gazelles, wildebeest, impala, and eland and among others,  What do Big 5 Mammals Eat.


African lion is the most known as the sociable among the African cats though it’s the most dangerous African animal. The lion is known as the king of the jungle which should not be missed on a safari in East Africa. The lion always wins its prey because it’s the second fast animal specie on the ground that has the maximum speed of 80 kilometers per hour.

African lions are the apex predators that do hunt the largest animal species like the buffalo, giraffes, antelopes, zebras, and wildebeest and among others. Lions are majorly spotted in every national park and national reserve in the East Africa including Murchison falls national park, Kidepo valley national park, lake Mburo national park and among others in Uganda, Tsavo national parks, Nairobi national park, Maasai Mara national reserve, Amboseli national parks and among others in Kenya. Serengeti national park, Tarangire national park and among others in Tanzania, Akagera in Rwanda and among others.


Rhino has got two types that is the black rhino and the white rhino. Both the rhino types are in the various countries of Africa even the entire East Africa in the countries like Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, and Rwanda on a safari. The white and the black rhinos are not differentiated on the colour, size, food preference, mouth shape. Though the white rhinos have got the flat, big mouth.

Both the white and the black rhino are the herbivores and they depend on the various feeds like the fruits, grasses, leaves, stems, fruits and among others. On a safari in East Africa the travelers can explore the rhinos in all most the parks and reserves in countries like Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Tanzania

book a trip